Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) Personality disorder Definitions

The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) divides personality disorders into 3 clusters and 10 distinct diagnoses:

Cluster C: Anxious or Fearful Personality Disorders


These are definitions which have been created by the American Psychiatric Association to give mental health professionals a set of shorthand labels to describe the pathology and behaviors of a particular category of patients.

ICD-10 Personality Disorder Definitions

The World Health Organization's International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems 10th Revision (ICD-10) organizes personality disorder diagnoses in different groupings compared to the DSM as follows:

Other Specific Personality Disorders:

  • Eccentric Personality Disorder
  • Haltlose Personality Disorder
  • Immature Personality Disorder
  • Narcissistic Personality Disorder
  • Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder
  • Psychoneurotic Personality Disorder

Personality Disorder Unspecified

Mixed and Other Personality Disorders